NCAOR Staff - Mr. Asutosh Acharya

Mr. Asutosh Acharya

Project Scientist B
Department Name : Arctic Ocean- Atmospheric Studies
Desk No : +91-832-2525680

Field Of Specilization : Climate modelling and observation, Precipitation processes, Remote sensing applications, Ocean color.
Current Research Activities : 1. Long Term Monitoring of Precipitation and Clouds in Arctic. 2. Aerosol-Monsoon interactions over Indian regions

Academic Record

2014─Till date: Ph.D. (Climate Science), IIT Bhubaneswar

2012-2013: M.Phil. (Marine Sciences), Berhampur University, Odisha.

2010-2012: M.Sc. (Oceanography), Berhampur University, Odisha.

2007-2010: B.Sc. (Physics) ,Utkal University ,Odisha


  • Qualified UGC-CSIR NET/JRF (National level) for Earth, Atmosphere and Planetary Sciences category -2017 
  • Best poster award in ‘National Symposium on Tropical Meteorology: Climate Change and coastal vulnerability” (TROPMET-2016) 18-21, 2016, Bhubaneswar Odisha.
  • DST-INSPIRE fellowship for the year 2013-14
  • First class first position (Gold Medallist) in M.Sc. Oceanography,2012
  • Summer Research Fellowship (Indian Academy of Sciences) for Year 2011 and 2012.

Research Area

Measurement of cloud, aerosol and precipitation.

Measurement and interpretation of  aerosol, could and precipitation datasets using state of art modern instruments and available satellite/reanalysis data products 

Climate modelling and observations

Use of high resolution climate models to study aerosol-precipitation interactions .Validation of results using available reanalysis and satellite data products.

Professional Record

2018 June- Project Scientist-B at ESSO-National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research (NCAOR), Goa

2014 May-Till date PhD Research Scholar in School of Earth Ocean and climate Sciences (SEOCS), IIT Bhubaneswar.

2014 Mar-May- JRF in the project Hydrologic sensitivity to Cryosphere Aerosol interaction in mountain processes, in Department of Civil Engg, IIT Kharagpur

2013-2014 - JRF in the INCOIS sponsored SATCORE Project at Dept. of Marine Sciences, Berhampur University