Our Chairman

Dr. M. Ravichandran

Secretary , Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES)


Dr. M. Ravichandran has assumed charge as  Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) from 11 Oct  2021. He obtained his Ph.D degree in Physics from University of Pune. He was Director at NCPOR, Goa (2016-2021). He worked as a Scientist in Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (ESSO-IITM), Pune (1988 to 1997),  at National Institute of Ocean Technology (ESSO-NIOT), Chennai (1997-2001) and at Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (ESSO-INCOIS), Hyderabad (2001-2016) before joining at NCPOR.

Research Interest

  1. Atmospheric Physics & Ocean Dynamics
  2. Air-sea interaction
  3. Ocean Observing Systems and Modeling

Member of International committee / bodies

  1. Vice-President, Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) of International Science Council (Capacity Building) (2018-present)
  2. Council Member, International Arctic Science committee (IASC) (2016-present)
  3. Alternate Delegate-India, Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) (2016-Present)
  4. Indian Rep: Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (2016 to present)
  5. Alternate Delegate-India, Antarctic Treaty System (2016-Present)
  6. Co-Chair, Indian Ocean Panel of GOOS/CLIVAR, Climate Research program of WCRP (2012-2016)
  7. Member, International Argo Steering Team & Regional Argo Co-ordinator for the Indian Ocean (2005 to 2016)
  8. Member, SIBER (Sustained Indian Ocean Biogeochemical  and Ecological Research ) Scientific Steering Committee (2010- 2017)
  9. Ocean Expert: WMO/IOC capacity building

  Editor: Pure and Applied Geophysics (Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences) (2015 to present)

Publications details